What is the Difference between Suspension and Revocation?
Westchester County DWI Defense
In New York State, your driver’s license is a privilege and it can
be either suspended or revoked if you have been convicted of a DWI/DWAI
offense. What’s the difference?
SUSPENSION: If your license is suspended in New York State, that means that you are
no longer able to drive legally during the period of suspension. When
the suspension is lifted, your license will be automatically reinstated
by the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are found guilty of a
DWAI offense then your license will be suspended for 90 days. At the end of the 90
day period, your license will be reinstated.
REVOCATION: Unlike with a suspension, a revocation of your driver’s license
means that it has been terminated in New York State and you will need
to reapply for a new license at the Department of Motor Vehicles following
the completion of the termination period. For example, if you are convicted
of misdemeanor DWI, your license will be revoked for 6 months. In the
case of felony
DWI convictions, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 1 year.
WHAT IF I AM ARRESTED FOR A DWI/DWAI OFFENSE? If you are charged with any
DWI/DWAI offense, you can expect your license to be suspended at the very first court appearance.
The Court has the discretion to provide you with a Temporary Driver’s
License during the ongoing legal proceedings (for example, if you require
a license to drive to/from work or school). Here at
The Law Offices of Marcia Payton, PLLC, we can help you obtain a Temporary Driver’s License for the duration
of your court case.
If you have been charged and risk suspension or revocation of your license
in Westchester County, call us today and
schedule a consultation.