What is the Difference between Suspension and Revocation?
Westchester County DWI Defense
In New York State, your driver’s license is considered a privilege and it can be either suspended or revoked if you have been convicted of a DWI/DWAI offense. Below, we overview the differences between a suspension and revocation. Our experienced DWI defense attorney in Westchester County can help you reduce or prevent either one of these penalties.
- SUSPENSION: If your license is suspended in New York State, that means that you are no longer able to drive legally during the period of suspension. When the suspension is lifted, your license will be automatically reinstated by the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are found guilty of a DWAI offense then your license will be suspended for 90 days. At the end of the 90 day period, your license will be reinstated.
- REVOCATION: Unlike with a suspension, a revocation of your driver’s license means that it has been terminated in New York State and you will need to reapply for a new license at the Department of Motor Vehicles following the completion of the termination period. For example, if you are convicted of misdemeanor DWI, your license will be revoked for 6 months. In the case of felony DWI convictions, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 1 year.
WHAT IF I AM ARRESTED FOR A DWI/DWAI OFFENSE?
If you are charged with any DWI/DWAI offense, you can expect your license to be suspended at the very first court appearance. The Court has the discretion to provide you with a Temporary Driver’s License during the ongoing legal proceedings (for example, if you require a license to drive to/from work or school). Here at The Law Offices of Marcia Payton, we can help you obtain a Temporary Driver’s License for the duration of your court case.
If you have been charged and risk suspension or revocation of your license in Westchester County, call our Westchester County DWI defense lawyer at (914) 705-4502 today and schedule a free consultation.