Do You Need a DWI Lawyer in Westchester, NY?
Ensure Your Rights Are Protected
Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime that comes with heavy penalties if you are convicted. If you find yourself facing these charges, don't go through this alone. Westchester County DWI defense attorney Marcia Payton in well-equipped to defend you.
In the state of New York, individuals found driving with a blood alcohol concentration higher than the legal limit can face charges for driving while intoxicated, also known as DWI. The legal limits for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) are as follows:
- 0.08% for drivers over the age of 21
- 0.04% for drivers of commercial vehicles
- 0.02% for drivers under 21
Learn more about how Westchester County DUI defense attorney Marcia Payton can help by contacting the firm! We have offices in Mount Kisco and travel to New York City for client meetings.
We Help You Fight Every Charge
In many cases, law enforcement will tack on other charges to build a stronger case for prosecution. Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) applies to anyone who drove while impaired, and may differ depending on whether drugs or alcohol were involved. Aggravated DWI describes charges given to an individual whose BAC was 0.18% or higher. Also, actions such as refusing to undergo chemical testing or breaking the Zero Tolerance Law could also affect your charges.
Do not let these extra charges intimidate you. These charges are often used as bargaining chips so the defense will focus on dismissing them instead of the original charge. Our goal is to address every charge our clients are facing. You deserve a defense that will do everything in their power to defend your rights and reputation.
Reasons to choose our legal team:
- Hundreds Of Felony Cases Successfully Handled
- After Hour Appointments Available
- Free Case Consultations Provided
- Compassionate Representation & Aggressive Advocacy
- A Former Prosecutor Defending Your Rights
Penalties For a DWI
The penalties you might face for a DWI conviction depend on certain factors, including age, license type, and testing cooperation. If you are under the age of 21 and charged with a DWI for the first time, you can expect to face a 6 month license suspension, a $125 fine, possible education courses, and possible ignition interlock device installment. These same penalties can only get harsher with each additional conviction.
First time DWI penalties for drivers 21 and older can include:
- 90 day license suspension
- A $500 - $750 dollar fine
- Up to 15 days in jail
- Education and responsibility programs
For each additional DWI charge, penalties increase. In addition, penalties can also intensify if drugs were involved or if any passengers were in the vehicle.
How The Law Offices of Marcia Payton Can Help
Westchester DWI defense Attorney Payton has handled countless DWI cases. For over 15 years, she has been defending the rights of the accused and fighting on behalf of her clients in court. With her dedicated services, it may be possible to get your charges lessened or even dismissed. Call (914) 712-6878 to schedule a free consultation with her—we even schedule meetings after-hours. Our team always provides clients with personalized attention.
Tell us about your situation in a complimentary, no-obligation, and strictly confidential case evaluation. Call (914) 712-6878 today.
My license is cleared and I didn’t even have to go to court!- Rick
I decided to hire her on the spot and it was the best decision I could have made.- Mary
If I ever need a lawyer again, I will call The Law Offices of Marcia Payton.- John