Westchester Attorneys Prepared To Get You Results
Westchester County DWI Attorneys
Have A Former Prosecutor Defend Your DWI Case
If you have been arrested for a DWI (NY VTL 1192) in New York, then it is important that you have an experienced DWI lawyer aggressively defend you in your case.
In Westchester County, NY, a DWI arrest and conviction can have a severe impact as the penalties associated with a DWI can last for years.
At Riebling & Payton, PLLC, we take pride in how hard we work to make sure that our clients receive the best defense. We strive to work with you to make sure that your questions are answered and your concerns are addressed. With offices located throughout Westchester County, including White Plains and Mount Kisco, our DWI lawyers can conveniently meet with you.
DWI Penalties in NY
Under New York’s DWI Laws (Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 1192) Westchester County judges can impose a number of different penalties depending on the circumstances of your arrest. Westchester County DWI defense lawyers Stephen Riebling and Marcia Payton have decades of proven experience to put on your side to help reduce the possibilities of serious penalties, such as jail time, probation and loss of your driver’s license.
Don’t face your DWI arrest alone, our Westchester County DWI attorneys will discuss all aspects of your case and build a specific legal defense tailored to your circumstances to fight for you and protect your rights.
Schedule a FREE consultation with our defense attorneys to see how we can help you today!
Learn About the DWI/DWAI Laws in Westchester County, New York
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) - Under New York State VTL § 1192, any person operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above can be arrested and charged with the misdemeanor crime of driving while intoxicated or DWI.
Misdemeanor and Felony DWI - A misdemeanor DWI carries a sentence of up to one year in county jail or three years' probation, fines and an ignition interlock device. If you are charged with a felony, you could be facing state prison time or five years' probation, fines and an ignition interlock device. Anyone convicted of a prior DWI within the last ten years prior to your new DWI charge will be charged as a felony in Westchester County.
Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) by Alcohol - Charged under New York State VTL § 1192.1, DWAI is a violation under the law and not a criminal charge. New York State VTL § 1192.1 applies to individuals who are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration that is between .05% and .07%. Penalties can include a $300 - $500 fine, up to 15 days in jail, or both.
Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) by Drugs - Charged under New York State VTL § 1192.4, DWAI Drugs applies to any person who is operating a motor vehicle while their ability to operate the motor vehicle has been impaired by drugs.
Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated - Charged under New York State VTL § 1192.2(2a), a person from driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of .18% or more. This charge carries elevated penalties including a much longer license revocation and even higher monetary fines.
Contact the Westchester County DWI defense lawyers at Riebling & Payton, PLLC today and learn how we can help you. Free Case Reviews at 914-712-6878.
Leandra's Law (NY VTL § 1192(2-a)(b)
Leandra’ Law, named after an eleven-year-old who was killed by a drunk driver, imposes some of the toughest DWI provisions in the country.
Under New York Vehicle and Traffic Section 1192(2-a)(b), the following apply:
- It is an "E" felony, punishable by up to four years in prison for a first-time offender, to simply drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs when a child, fifteen years old or younger, is in the vehicle.
- It is a "C" felony, punishable by up to fifteen years in prison for this same offender, if a child sustains a "serious physical injury.”
- Even worse, it is a class "B" felony, punishable by up to twenty-five years in prison with a minimum of five years incarceration, if a child dies as a result of the intoxicated operation.
These additional penalties can also be imposed:
- A fine up to $5,000, but no less than $1,000.
- Five years probation depending on whether the child sustained no or little injury.
- License revocation for at least a year
- Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel
- $520 surcharge and a three year DMV assessment totaling $750
- The installation, at a cost to you, of an ignition interlock device.
Having our combined 50+ years of experience on your side gives you an advantage in defending your case. We will work diligently to try to devise an outcome that may result in your DWI charges being reduced or dismissed altogether.
Learning About Your DWI Defense Lawyer
Take the time to learn about your lawyer, their experience and their impression of your case.
At Riebling & Payton, PLLC, we will encourage you to ask questions and we will explain step-by-step how your case will proceed in court.
Our DWI defense attorneys have handled countless DWI cases over the years and have built a reputation as being trustworthy and aggressive advocates for their clients.
Attorneys Stephen Riebling and Marcia Payton work closely together to explore your defense options and analyze your case. Having this approach, looking at things from different legal perspectives, has proven incredibly successful over the years.
Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation Today - (914) 712-6878
For decades, our DWI defense lawyers have utilized their skill and experience to provide results for our numerous DWI/DWAI clients throughout Westchester County including: Bedford, Mount Kisco, Dobbs Ferry, Greenburgh, Harrison, Rye, Yonkers, Mamaroneck, Mount Vernon, New Rochelle, Larchmont, Tarrytown, Ardsley, New Rochelle, Cortlandt, Croton-on-Hudson, Elmsford, Peekskill and White Plains.
If you are facing DWI or DWAI charges, get the defense you deserve by contacting us today!